Let the Stress Begin!

Hi All,

 I’m officially back from vacation, and yesterday marked the start of a new quarter at school. This is quarter 3 of 5, I’m almost at the halfway point and this is where it gets serious!

We are at the beginning stages of planning the fashion show, and I got a handout of the deadlines this weekend. Somehow I didn’t realize that I would be THIS crunched for time. The initial sketches of my line are due at the end of September, this gives me less than 3 months! All of this of course has to be done outside of my regular 40 hour workweek + 18 hour school week. Needless to say I’m a bit overwhelmed, but I’m fully prepared to get down to business… caffine here I come!

Also, I went to the high end fabric store on my lunch break today (after exhausting all of my other, cheaper alternatives) and only found one fabric to my liking. I’ll take it as a compliment to my good taste that it’ll be setting me back $45/yard. Ouch. Tonight I’ll be finishing up the pattern (just a tweak to the hem) and trying to figure out how to squish all the pieces into as few yards as possible. (I decided to scrap the pleats around the pockets too, I just couldn’t get them to hang correctly.)

On a positive note I started my history of fashion class series yesterday, which proved to be very interesting and inspiring.

One Response to “Let the Stress Begin!”

  1. Lauren Says:

    history of fashion sounds interesting! Will you be posting any pictures of your sketches or projects? That would be so lovely!

Leave a Reply

