Well, I didn’t have any luck finding my black dress fabric last night 😦 I found a beautiful wool/rayon crepe that I thought would work quite well, but there was a 10 yard minimum and I couldn’t really justify buying that deep. I will have to suck it up and either try to find something while on my trip, or visit the (very expensive!) fabric store here when I return. I did get a little lucky though, I found a beautiful dark olive colored silk that I may use for my line.

I also had a meeting last night to start planning for the fashion show (graduation). Though it isn’t until April of 08, there is a lot of planning involved. My committee is promotions, so there will be much work involved contacting press, advertising, and trying to attract interest from local buyers. We’ve also got to plan for a silent auction to raise funds, which will take place around Thanksgiving. Lukily, La Dayjob is fairly mellow and allows me to multi-task.

Though I technically have class tonight, I’m taking the night off. The class is to work on our black dress, which basically involves: make a muslin (mock up version in a cheap cotton fabric), alter the pattern, sew a new muslin, repeat, repeat, repeat. During this class I’m usually off in a corner working on my own anyways, so I dont feel too guilty. Part of playing hookie is also lazyness, for 2 reasons:

 1) I leave for my trip tomorrow morning and I’d like to have time to get ready; if I go to class I don’t get home until 9 (four days a week people!).

2) One of my sewing machines (the 1975 Elna I keep at school) is spazzing out on me and needs to go in for a check up. This means lugging my computerized Pfaff back and forth. The Pfaff isn’t a metal beast like the Elna, so I’m paranoid about damaging it.

What I need to tweak on my dress:

The volume of the skirt, it’s a little too a-line at the moment

The front pleats, I just need to move them slightly

The hemline (figuring out the exact length and making the shirt-tail detail)

The cuffs

It sounds like a lot when I write it out, but I still have 2 weeks to do it and I think I should be able to get most of it done at home. Perhaps I will take a picture of one of the muslins for you guys next week!

Leave a Reply

