Long Time No Post

Hello All,

I realize it’s been quite a while since I last updated… I will try to stay on top of things a little more. Due to my insane schedule this month, my normal state of dis-organization has gotten even worse. I have tons of school papers and projects floating around in my car just begging to be put in binders.

Because of the fact that I will be in classes right up until the runway show, I am voluntarily taking some classes a few quarters early in order to lighten my load down the line. However, this means that I am in class (this month) 5 to 6 days a week… no, I don’t know how I do it either! This month my line up for classes is: History of Fashion II, Computer Aided Design II, Grading III (grading my black dress pattern), Technical Flat Sketch, and Design: Line and Proportion.

Let’s talk for a minute aboutĀ Flat Sketch… which I must say is a total pain in the ass. In the course of one hour I not only developed turrets but also an extreme hatred for pants. The process of producing a flat sketch is basically this:

Lay the item out on a table. Take dozens of measurements of said item. Use these measurements to create an accurate to scale (and detailed) drawing of the item.

It isn’t exactly hard, but can get confusing (aka: frustrating as hell). I don’t think anybody really enjoys doing this, but it’s one of those skills that will be useful in finding a job in the industry.

Also, in September I begin work on my storyboards for my line. So I’ve been spending my downtime working on designing my line. I’m not going to give it away to you guys (you’ll have to wait and see) but it’s a fall collection, and I’m playing with a 20’s drop-waist sort of silhouette. I have a few solid pieces designed, but the rest I’m still working on. There’s also the possibility that I’ll completely change my mind a dozen more time too… I’m a gemini, it’s what we do.

One Response to “Long Time No Post”

  1. Andrew Says:

    That’s how I feel about Flat Sketch too.

Leave a comment